Departmental Achievements

  • Mr. Anagat A. Vaghela got Shri Shivabhai Marghabhai Patel Gold Plated Medal in 2010 being first in all social science Medal (Political Science).
  • Usha V. Bhuriya, M.Phil student got Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship in 2013.
  • Chandrika J. Chavda, M.Phil student got Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship in 2014.
  • Anagat A. Vaghela, Ph.D. student got Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship in 2014.
  • Kalu M. Garasiya, M.Phil student got National Fellowship for Higher Education of ST Students in 2016.
  • Navnit J. Joshi, M.A. student got Kashiben Gordhanbhai Patel Scholarship from Sardar Patel University in 2014-15.
  • Department got U.G.C. funded NET Coaching Centre for SC/ST and we regularly organize coaching classes twice in a year that is May/June and November/December.

    Department got Government of Gujarat funded Centre for Ethics and Excellence. (20 lakhs)

Dr. Baldev Agja,

  • Professor and Head
  • Professor In-charge, Administrative Unit of Humanities & Social Sciences, S.P. University.
  • Hon. Director, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Chair, S.P. University.
  • Co-ordinator, NET Coaching Centre for SC/ST, S.P. University.
  • Liaison Officer, S.P. University Advisory Committee for SC/ST.
  • Chairman, Gujarat Political Science Association (GRM).
  • Chairman, Board of Studies in Political Science, S.P. University.
  • Executive Member, Indian Political Science Association (IPSA).
  • Acted as a UGC Nominee for the Planning and Monitoring Board of Kannur University, Kerala.
  • Member of the Advisory Committee, The Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) state level studies on educational status of Scheduled Castes.
  • Co-ordinator, Committee for the Implementation of the Scheme of Coaching Classes for SC/ST and Community Candidates to prepare for National Eligibility Test (NET), S.P. University.
  • Member, Reconstituted Publication Board of S.P. University.
  • Member, IQAC-Composition Committee, S.P. University.
  • Acted as member in U.G.C. Appointed Expert Committee in 5 various universities.
  • Worked as a Exam Co-ordinator, November-December-2014 M.A., M.Phil Arts, M.S.W., MHRM of S.P. University.
  • Worked as a co-ordinator, Central Assessment Centre in al M.A. Exam, Humanities Building, S.P. University.
  • Worked as a Exam co-ordinator, April-2016 M.A. (External) (Final) (Evening Session), S.P. University.
  • Worked as a Exam Co-ordinator, June-2016 M.Phil (Regular), S.P. University.
  • Member, Library Committee, S.P. University.
  • Member, Exam Reforms Committee, S.P. University.
  • Worked as a Director of about 15 seminars, workshops, conference, orientation programmes.
  • Won best research article award 2005, Sardar Patel Chair, S.P. University.
  • President, Shree Basso Byashi Rohit Samaj Trust, Ahmedabad.
  • Founder Secretary, Dr. Ambedkar Pragati Mandal, Akhaj, Dist- Mehsana.
  • Life Member, Sant Shri Rohidas Seva Samaj Gujarat, Gandhinagar.
  • Life Member, Mahesana District Nagrik Mitra Mandal, Anand.
  • Executive member, Gujarat-Mumbai Rationalist Association, Ahmedabad.
  • Member, Alumni Association of SPU (AASPU), S.P. University.
  • Exectuve member, Gandhi Shanti Chhatra Sangha, Ahinsha Sodh Sanstha, Gujarat Vidyapith, Ahmedabad.

Past Faculty Member:
Dr. Manoj Soni

  • Former Vice-Chancellor, The M.S. University of Baroda, Vadodara from 2005 to 2008.
  • Got Honarary Mayor-President of the city of Baton Rouge, Parish of East Baton Rouge on 20th August, 2013.
  • Former Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University, Ahmedabad for two terms from 2009 to 2015.
  • Got World Education Congress Global Award for Distance Learning Leadership from Chartered Institute of Management Accountants on 23rd July, 2015.