From the Desk of the Head

Welcome to the N.V. Patel Department of Communication and Media Studies at Sardar Patel University.

NoImage.jpg This Department was created to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the University, with a handsome donation of Rs. 25 lac from the late philanthropist Shri Natubhai V Patel in 2004. We have been fortunate to receive support from our Ex-Vice Chancellors Professor (Dr) Pravin J Patel, Professor (Dr) B G Patel.

The Department took shape on the basis of an action plan and syllabus designed by a four-member Committee appointed by the then Vice Chancellor:
(1) the late Professor (Dr) Rohit Prabhakar, the then Dean, Faculty of Management, and Head, GH Patel PG Institute of Business Management, Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar (Convenor),
(2) Professor S K Tewari, Dean and Head, Faculty of Journalism and Communication, MS University of Baroda, Vadodara (Expert),
(3) Dr J H Khan, Honorary Director, Centre for Training and Research in Language and Communication, and then Reader, PG Department of English, Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar (Member), and (4) Mr Harish Desai, Incharge Registrar, Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar (Member-Secretary).

We believe in being learner- and learning-centric in our belief that trying to do good and doing good are in themselves the rewards of our karma. We do take legitimate pride in doing our very best to constantly set and achieve newer goals, and invite you to join us in working towards a better future.